Newsletter Signup


Europa FC won their third straight Gibtelecom Cup by beating Gibraltar United 3-0 in this evening's final at the Victoria Stadium.

It was to prove a tense first half with neither side willing to take too many risks.  The best chances falling Europa's way. Arana Rodriguez shot wide after a fine piece of skill to turn the Gibraltar United defender, and Liam Walker's free kick brillinatly saved by Kyle Goldwin. 

Stale mate at the break and everything to play for in the second half. 


As the second half went on, Europa FC grew into the game and took control. In the 55th Minute Arana Rodriguez ran past Erin Barnet and calmly finished past Goldwin to give Europa the lead. 

Arana Rodriguez then latched on to a mistake and fed in Urko Arroyo who doubled Europa's lead. 

Arroyo was then brought down in the box. Penatly to Europa.

Up stepped Liam Walker who slotted in the penalty kick past his international team mate Goldwin. 3-0 and effectively game over.


Tempers flaired and tensions threatened to boil over as Arana Rodriguez clashed with Carrasco however referee Herbert Warwick quickly diffused the situation. 

When Warwick brought the game to an end Europa were comfortable winners and claimed their third straight Gibtelecom Cup. 

Gibraltar United may well have been beaten on the day, but their cup run proved them worthy runners up.

As a result St Joseph's FC secure the remaining Europa League spot thanks to theiur third place finish in the gibraltar First Division.  

Liam Walker lifts the Gibtelecom Cup.